Skip to main content

College of Arts & Sciences: Department of Sociology, Anthropology, and Social Work

Identifier: UA-004-010

Scope and Contents

This collection from the Department of Sociology, Anthropology, and Social Work offers a look into the inner workings of the department through two different series. The first houses the meeting notes for the departmental meetings. While offering notes from 1966-2011, the most complete notes are found in the 1990’s. The second series offers a look into the department following the St. Joseph Hall Fire in 1987. Included are inventory sheets of things lost in the fire as well as correspondence from the years the department was relocated while the hall was being rebuilt.


  • Creation: Majority of material found within 1966 - 2011

Conditions Governing Access

This collection is open and available to the public for research in the University Archives and Special Collections reading room. The materials are non-circulating.

Conditions Governing Use

The materials in this collection may be protected by copyright law (Title 17, US code). The materials are available for personal, educational, and scholarly use. It is the responsibility of the researcher to locate and obtain permission from the copyright owner or his or her heirs for any other use, such as reprodcution and publication.

Biographical / Historical

The history of sociology on the University of Dayton’s campus can be traced back to the 1918-1919 school year, with a single course being offered by Rev. Frances Kunnecke. By the 1920-1921 school year, the School of Sociology was established, with Kunnecke as the sole faculty in the department.In 1938, it changed its name to the Department of Sociology as the university restructured itself. The department’s offices were located throughout campus.

In 1963, Mary Jo Huth was the first female sociology professor hired by the university, joining her father Edward A. Huth in the department. Mary Jo Huth also became the first female department chair in 1966. Also in 1966, it added Anthropology to the department and started offering classes on the subject. In 1969, the department also added Social Work to it’s offerings. During this time, the department moved into the second floor of St. Joseph Hall, settling in around 1970. In 1977, the department dropped Social Work from its name, which became its own department.

In late 1987, St. Joe’s suffered a major fire that destroyed the interior of the building along with thousands of hours of research. While the building was being renovated, the department found itself in the J. Phillips Center from 1987 to 1989. Once St. Joe’s was finished, the department moved into its fourth floor, where it still resides today. In 1991, it merged back with the Department of Social Work to become the Department of Sociology, Anthropology, and Social Work.

Today the Department of Sociology, Anthropology, and Social Work provides a major in Sociology, along with minors in Sociology, Anthropology, Social Work, and Family Development.

Key Events

Rev. Francis Kunnecke offers the first sociology course.
School of Sociology is formed.
Rev Francis Kunnecke is department head.
Rev. Joseph Trunk, is department head.
Rev. Francis J. Friedel is department head.
School of Sociology is renamed Department of Sociology.
Dr. Edward A. Huth is department chair.
Sociology Department is in Zehler Hall
Dr. Mary Jo Huth becomes the first women hired by the Department of Sociology.
Sociology Department is in Wohlleben Hall
Sociology Department resides in Miriam Hall
Dr. Mary Jo Huth is named first female department chair.
Department of Sociology is renamed Department of Sociology and Anthropology after adding anthropology classes.
Dr. Mary Jo Huth is department chair.
Department of Sociology and Anthropology is renamed Department of of Sociology, Anthropology, and Social Work after adding Social Work classes.
The Sociology Department moves to the second floor of St. Joe's
Rev. John G. Dickson is department chair.
Social Work is spun off into its own department. The department is renamed Department of Sociology and Anthropology.
Dr. Stanley L. Saxton is department chair.
Dr. Patrick G. Donelly is department chair.
St. Joe's suffers a major fire that destroys the interior.
The department is moved to the J. Phillips Center
Department is moved into the fourth floor of the renovated St. Joe's
Social work is integrated back into the department. Renamed to Department of Sociology, Anthropology, and Social Work.
Dr. Fred P. Pestello is department chair.
Dr. Patrick G. Donelly is department chair.
Dr. Dan Miller is department chair.
Dr. H. Frances Geyer Pestello is department chair.
Sr. Laura Leming is department chair.
Dr. Leslie Picca is department chair.
Dr. Jeanne A. Holcomb is department chair.


1.8 Linear Feet

Language of Materials



The Department of Sociology, Anthropology, and Social Work Collection is split into two series

1.Sociology Department Meetings

2.St. Joseph Hall Fire and Aftermath

Katarina Ploger
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the University Libraries Repository

300 College Park Dr.
Dayton Ohio 45469-1360